John Kannenberg

New curatorial project »
The Museum of Portable Sound
The Museum of Portable Sound awaiting its ribbon cutting at the Grand Opening Gala

On 11 November 2015, The Museum of Portable Sound celebrated its Grand Opening Gala as part of Points of Listening at the London College of Communication. The packed-house event included a speech by Director and Chief Curator John Kannenberg, a ribbon cutting ceremony, and a private tour of the Museum's galleries by the Director. Located in London, The Museum of Portable Sound is dedicated to the collection, preservation, and exhibition of cultural artifacts related to the history of sound. With a specific focus on portability, digital initiatives, and community engagement, it brings the culture of sound to the public – one listener at a time.

Recent Projects »

Why Listen to Museums? A talk at the National Gallery, London

At the National Gallery's Soundscapes Late event on 4 September 2015, I gave a gallery talk and Q&A dealing with the sonic experience of museums, psithurism, making sound maps, listening to narrative paintings, goofing off in Tate Modern, and what to do when confronted by soldiers with rifles while trying to sneak an audio recorder into the Egyptian Museum in Cairo.


Cordolium is a collection of non-verbal laments for the heart in flux, weaving together edited and processed field recordings from around the world to create abstracted audio poems of love, loss, longing, and heartache in all its forms – emotional, intellectual, physical – and dedicated to the faint of heart. The photographs in the accompanying digital booklet add another layer to the stories embedded within the sounds.

Hours of Infinity

Commission a Drawing

Hours of Infinity is an ongoing series of projects that debuted at the Kelsey Museum of Archaeology and the Work Gallery in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Two gallery exhibitions, One Hundred Hours of Infinity and Twelve Hours of Infinity: Amduat displayed the output of a deceptively simple, rigorously imprecise drawing method – on the floor with a pencil attached to fishing line – that metaphorically represents the imperfection embedded within the human experience of the infinite.

The complementary installation/performance event An Hour of Infinity featured the simultaneous display of eight live drawing performers, two surround sound installations, and two graphic score musical performances throughout the Kelsey Museum galleries.